News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/17/2017 10:50:55 AM to 5/25/2017 12:00:03 AM.

News Flash

Police Department

Posted on: May 17, 2017

[ARCHIVED] Move Over Law Education and Enforcement Thursday, May 18

Saturday, Colorado State Trooper Cody Donahue was formally dedicated at the 29th annual candlelight vigil held for fallen law enforcement officers on the National Mall in Washington D.C. Thursday, May 18, officers around the state will enforce the operation inspired by Trooper Donahue’s senseless death, Operation 1 Charlie 3 (1C3).    

The Parker Police Department will join 26 Colorado law enforcement agencies across the state to conduct Operation 1C3-“Move Over” campaign on May 18th, 2017. This operation is aimed to educate motorists of the law as well as enforce the laws importance for the safety of law enforcement, roadside workers and drivers. 

Named after Colorado State Trooper Cody Donahue who was killed in the line of duty in 2016 after being struck by a commercial truck that failed to move over for a stationary emergency vehicle, Operation 1C3 – ‘Move Over’ is a traffic operational effort that brings together law enforcement agencies statewide to help educate drivers and enforce moving over for a stationary emergency vehicle.

The “Move-Over” law requires motorists to move over one lane to provide a safety buffer for emergency vehicles that are on the side of the highway or road.  If moving over a lane is not possible, the law required drivers to greatly reduce their speed when approaching an emergency vehicle.

In the April state-wide iteration of this operation, nearly 480 Colorado motorists violated the “Move-Over” law – and law enforcement agencies hope to continue to reduce this number of violations as they increase awareness on the importance of this law. 

To increase safety to the motoring public, motorists should continue to be diligent and aware of emergency vehicles at all times, doing so will help save lives.  Additional “Move-Over” campaign days will take place on June 20th and July 11th, 2017.

Participating agencies in Thursday’s enforcement and educational campaign include:


  • Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office
  • Basalt Police Department
  • Boulder County Sheriff’s Office
  • Boulder Police Department
  • Broomfield Police Department
  • Cannon City Police Department
  • Castle Rock Police Department
  • Colorado State Patrol
  • Douglas County Sheriff’s Office
  • Durango Police Department
  • Estes Park Police Department
  • Florence Police Department
  • Fort Lupton Police Department
  • Fremont County Sheriff’s Office
  • Garfield County Sheriff’s Office
  • Greenwood Village Police Department
  • Lafayette Police Department
  • Larimer County Sheriff’s Office
  • Lone Tree Police Department
  • Park County Sheriff’s Office
  • Parker Police Department
  • Peterson Airforce Base Security Forces
  • Pitkin County Sheriff’s Office
  • Teller County Sheriff’s Office
  • University of Colorado Boulder Police Department
  • Woodland Park Police Department


Also, special thanks to CDOT and the Northwest Parkway Toll Authority for helping keep drivers informed with the video message boards.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Police Department